Illinois e-bike law

Illinois motorized bicycle laws.

State laws allow their citizens and residents without licenses to ride low-speed electric bicycles.

According to Illinois law, low speed electric bicycles are bicycles with fully functional pedals and with a motor under 750 Watts. The law further differentiates low speed bicycles into three classes.

Class 1

Electric bicycles that provide the rider with assistance only if the rider is pedaling and ceases the assistance when the bike reaches 20 mph. The motor stops if the rider is not pedaling or the bike reaches the limit of 20 mph.

Class 2

An electric bike equipped with a throttle actuated motor that directly does not require the rider to pedal in order to activate the motor. The motor may be used exclusively to power the bike but like the Class 1, stops assistance when the bike reaches 20 mph. 

Class 3

The rider must pedal for the motor to provide with the assistance similar to Class 1 bikes but unlike Class 1, the motor ceases the operation when the bike reaches 28 mph.

The Illinois statute requires Class 3 electric bicycles to have a speedometer and the rider must be at least 16 years of age.   

All three class low electric bikes may be operated in Illinois just like traditional bicycles but may have some restrictions depending on local laws.

Where can you ride your electric bicycle?

Electric bicycles are subject to the same statewide rules that apply to traditional bicycles according to the law. You can ride your e-bike anywhere that currently allows traditional bicycles including bike paths, as long as it’s not prohibited by local laws.

Note that you can not ride your electric bike on a sidewalk.

E-bikes are subject to all the rules of the road including traffic signs and speed limits.

 

ChicagoConversionkitDmvEbikeEbikelingIllinoisIllinoislaw